McGee - Brick School House is currently located in the Coffins Grove Township
near Manchester, Iowa, at the intersection of Candle Road and Delaware
County Road W69. The brick building was built in 1868 to replace a wooden
structure which burned down near Coffins Creek.
is a photo of the school from 1915. To the left of the Schoolhouse is
a building or shed that no longer exists. We do not know exactly why the
shed is no longer standing, but its original foundation is still in the
ground. Also seen in this photo is one of the original out-houses
that no longer stand.
More Schoolhouse History
McGee - Brick School was placed on the National Register of Historical
Places in 1999. It won recognition because of it's unique architectural
structure as well as the national reputation of former teacher, Sarah
OF THE McGEE BRICK SCHOOL 1883-1952
anyone knows who taught at the Schoolhouse between 1884 and 1902, visit
ARE A NON-PROFIT 501c(3) ORGANIZATION
McGee-Brick School Foundation
1027 N 4th St.
Manchester, IA 52057
Make a Donation Using PayPal!
Website Created and Maintained by Keaton Scovel
Hosted locally by JJC Media
to e-mail the webmaster regarding this website or click Send Us a Message.